Sporting Clays Classic | #NSEgives

NewStream Enterprises is proud to sponsor the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame's 5th Annual Sporting Clays Classic sponsored by Killian Construction and presented by Bass Pro Shops.  As part of the sponsorship, a team of NSE employees was able to participate in the event last week. View our gallery below.  

Mickey Roberts wins both rounds of Sporting Clays Classic

By Kary Booher

WALNUT SHADE – Mickey Roberts connected on 194 of 200 clays, the best overall score, as more roughly 200 participated Friday in the fifth annual Sporting Clays Classic sponsored by Killian Construction and presented by Bass Pro Shops.

The event, held at the Ozarks Shooters Sports Complex, was a fundraiser for the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame, which raffled 23 items — including a grand prize, a Remington model 870 shotgun – and auctioned off numerous other items geared toward those who enjoy hunting and fishing.

Roberts finished as the best overall shooter in both the morning and afternoon rounds, connecting on 98 of 100 clays in the morning and 96 of 100 in the afternoon.

Mickey Roberts, on the left, also teamed with Hiland Dairy.

“It was really tougher than I would have thought,” said Roberts, who was part of teams sponsored by Hiland Dairy and White River Valley Electric Cooperative Foundation. “We shoot all the time in tournaments. I missed a rabbit and on the skeet field (in the morning round). I didn’t miss until about halfway through.”

White River Valley Electric won the morning A Flight with a 343. The team included Greg Mattos, Darlene Roberts and Gary Graves. The B Flight morning winner was Bass Pro Shops, a team of Larry Miller, Stoney Roberts, Kyle Thiltgen and Steve Wilson. The team finished with a 247.

James River Mechanical took home C Flight trophies after finishing with a 214. The team consisted of Kris Cook, Tom Harris, Brian Craig and Trevor Evans.

Naegler Oil had the best score of the day, a 357.

In the afternoon round, Naegler Oil had the best score of the whole day as it won A Flight with a 357 behind Joe Naegler, Troy Major, Mike Rowland and Tim Goldsmith. Central Bank/Central Trust, which took the B Flight with a 229, included Dave Thater, Dave Turner, Jerry Martin and John Neiderwim. Winning C Flight with a 180 was Custom Metalcraft, which featured Drew Holden, Colbie Gregory, Cory Collins and Bryan Downer.

“It was the most successful Sporting Clays Classic in the history of the event,” said Marty Willadsen, Executive Vice President of the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame. “Everybody seemed to have a great time. Our auction and raffle is growing in the quality of items that we’re able to offer.”

That’s why it was so meaningful to Willadsen, who appreciated new companies coming on board. For instance, Bushnell gifted several items.

“It is very meaningful,” Willadsen said. “It has grown at such a great rate every single year.”

Source: Missouri Sports Hall of Fame

Toll Free: 800.533.3112

Mon - Fri: 8am - 5pm